概念

Jenkins X 中的概念

Jenkins X 旨在使得 DevOps 原则和最佳实践对于研发人员来说简单。

原则


“DevOps 是一套旨在缩短从提交变更到生产发布的时间的实践,同时保证高质量”

DevOps项目的目标:

  • 市场需求
  • 提高部署频率
  • 缩短修复时间
  • 更低的市场错误率
  • 更快的平均恢复时间

相对于行业平均水平——每周一次和每月一次来说,高效的团队应该有能力每天部署多次。

代码从已提交到上生产应该少于一个小时,变更失败率也应该小于15%,而平均值在31-45%之间。

从失败中的平均恢复时间应该少于一个小时。

Jenkins X 设计了第一原则,允许团队采用 DevOps 的最佳实践,来达到行业的最高目标。

实践


下列最佳实践被认为是DevOps成功的关键:

  • 架构松耦合
  • 自服务配置
  • 自动化管理
  • 持续构建 / 集成和部署
  • 自动发布管理
  • 增量测试
  • 配置即代码

Jenkins X 把大量常见的方法论和组件集成为复杂度最小的方法。

架构

Jenkins X 基于松耦合架构的 DevOps 模型,被设计用来支持在多个团队之间,部署大量可重复、可管理的分布式微服务。

概念模型

构成

Jenkins X 基于以下的核心组件:

Kubernetes 和 Docker


Kubernetes 是系统的核心,它已经成为了 DevOps 事实上的虚拟基础设施平台。每个主要的云服务商现在都已经提供了 Kubernetes 基础设施,并且可能已经在很多私有基础设施中也被安装了。测试环境可能也在使用 Minikube 安装器创建本地开发环境。

从功能上,该Kubernetes 平台扩展了 Docker 提供的基本容器化原则,用于跨多个物理节点。

简单来说,Kubernetes 提供了同构的虚拟基础设施,可以通过动态添加或者移除节点实现伸缩。每个节点都在一个大型专用虚拟网络空间里。

Kubernetes 中的部署单元是 Pod,它包含一个或多个 Docker 容器以及一些元数据。Pod 中所有的容器分享同样的虚拟 IP 地址和端口范围。Deployments在 Kubernetes 中是申明式的,因此,用户指定特定版本的 Pod 中部署的实例数量,Kubernetes 据此来计算跨节点中的 Pod 是应该删除或部署。根据标签匹配来决定资源的实例数量。一旦被部署,Kubernetes 就会通过定期的健康检查来保证 Pod 的数量,终止或则替换没响应的 Pod。

为了增加某些结构,Kubernetes 允许创建虚拟命名空间用于对 Pod 做逻辑分离,隐含地把一组 Pod 和特定资源关联起来。例如:在同一个命名空间里的资源共用安全策略。同一个命名空间里的资源名称必须是唯一的,但在不同的命名空间里不受该约束。

在 Jenkins X 模型中,一个 Pod 相当于部署好的一个微服务(大多数情况下)。当微服务需要横向扩容时,Kubernetes 允许在一个 Pod 中有多个相同的实例被部署, 每个实例都有自己的虚拟 IP 地址。它们可以聚合为一个虚拟终端,也就是服务,它有唯一的静态 IP 地址,并且本地的 DNS 纪录会匹配服务的名称。对服务的调用 会动态地随机映射到健康的 POD 实例上。服务还可以重新映射端口。在 Kubernetes 虚拟网络中,服务可以根据域名全称来饮用的,格式为<service-name>.<namespace-name>.svc.cluster.local,它也可以缩短为<service-name>.<namespace-name>,或者服务的命名空间都一样的话可以是<service-name>。因此,如果一个 RESTful 服务’payments’部署在命名空间’finance’中时,就可以通过http://payments.finance.svc.cluster.local或者http://payments.finance或只是http://payments来引用,这要取决于代码的调用位置。

为了在本地网络以外的地方访问服务,Kubernetes 需要给每个服务创建一个入口。最常见的形式是利用一个或者多个负载均衡绑定静态 IP 地址,在 Kubernetes 外面的虚拟基础设施和路由网络请求映射到内部服务。给负载均衡的静态 IP 地址创建一个通配符的外部 DNS 纪录,就剋一把服务映射到外部的全称域名上。例如:如果我们的负载均衡映射到 *.jenkins-x.io ,那么我们负载的服务就可能暴露为 http://payments.finance.jenkins-x.io

Kubernetes 为强大的不断提高的平台在部署服务上提供巨大的伸缩能力,但它同时也是复杂不容易理解的,而且要正确进行配置也有一定的困难。Jenkins X 给 Kubernetes引入了一系列默认约定以及简单的工具,为了优化 DevOps 并管理松耦合的服务。

命令行工具 jx 提供了执行基于 Kubernetes 实例的简单方法,例如:查看日志、连接容器实例。另外,Jenkins X 扩展了 Kubernetes 的命名空间约定来创建环境,这样就把发布流水线串联起来了。

一个 Jenkins X 环境代表一个虚拟基础设施环境,例如:Dev、Staging、Production等等。两个环境之间的流转规则是可以定义的,因此可以通过流水线实现自动或者人工发版。每个环境的管理都遵循 GitOps 的方法——环境状态的维护依赖于 Git 仓库,提交或者回滚都会关联 Kubernetes 中的环境状态的改变。

Kubernetes 集群可以直接通过命令 jx create cluster 来创建,这使得当发生错误时可以很容易地复制一个集群。相同地,Jenkins X 平台通过 jx upgrade platform 来升级已有的集群。Jenkins X 通过 jx context 支持多 Kubernetes 集群,在一个集群中可以通过 jx environment 来切换环境。

研发人员应该知道 Kubernetes 提供的分布式配置数据以及夸集群的安全身份。ConfigMaps 可以用来创建一系列键值对形式的非敏感配置元素句,Secrets 与之类似,但保存的是加密的身份信息。Kubernetes 还提供为 Pod 指定资源配额的机制,这在优化跨节点之间的部署上是有必要的。这一点,我们先简短地讨论下。

默认情况下, Pod 的状态是临时的。当 Pod 被删除后,该 Pod 下载本地文件系统中的任何数据都会丢失。研发人员应该明白,Kubernetes 为了节点的负载均衡,可能随时会删除或者重建 Pod,因此本地数据可能会在任何时间丢失。当用到有状态的数据时,应该申明持久化的卷(Volumes),并挂载到指定 Pod 的文件系统中。

Helm 和 Draft


要直接和 kubernetes 交互的话可以使用命令行 kubectl ,或者传递各种格式的 YAML 数据给 API。这一点会比较困难,而且错误信息的可读性差。为了沿用 DevOps ”配置即代码” 的原则,Jenkins X 借助 Helm 和 Draft 来创建应用的原子配置。

Helm 通过 Chart 的概念简化了 Kubernetes 的配置,它把一套需要部署到 Kubernetes 中的应用或者服务的原数据文件组织起来。Helm 不是维护一套基于 Kubernetes API 的样板化 YAML 文件,而是使用模板语言来通过需要的值来创建 YAML 文件。这使得在部署期间可以重用 Kubernetes 应用的配置文件。


特色

Jenkins X 如何帮助你做持续交付

技术性问题

Kubernetes 以及关联的开源项目的技术问题

组件

典型 Jenkins X 安装中的组件概览


最后修改 August 14, 2020: release 0.0.1853 (a7b91ef)

Concepts

An overview of the concepts in Jenkins X.

Jenkins X is designed to make it simple for developers to work to DevOps principles and best practices. The approaches taken are based on the comprehensive research done for the book ACCELERATE: Building and Scaling High Performing Technology Organsiations. You can read why we use Accelerate for the principles behind Jenkins X.

Principles


“DevOps is a set of practices intended to reduce the time between committing a change to a system and the change being placed into normal production, while ensuring high quality.”

The goals of DevOps projects are:

  • Faster time to market
  • Improved deployment frequency
  • Shorter time between fixes
  • Lower failure rate of releases
  • Faster Mean Time To Recovery

High performing teams should be able to deploy multiple times per day compared to the industry average that falls between once per week and once per month.

The lead time for code to migrate from ‘code committed’ to ‘code in production’ should be less than one hour and the change failure rate should be less than 15%, compared to an average of between 31-45%.

The Mean Time To Recover from a failure should also be less than one hour.

Jenkins X has been designed from first principles to allow teams to apply DevOps best practices to hit top-of-industry performance goals.

Practices


The following best practices are considered key to operating a successful DevOps approach:

  • Loosely-coupled Architectures
  • Self-service Configuration
  • Automated Provisioning
  • Continuous Build / Integration and Delivery
  • Automated Release Management
  • Incremental Testing
  • Infrastructure Configuration as Code
  • Comprehensive configuration management
  • Trunk based development and feature flags

Jenkins X brings together a number of familiar methodologies and components into an integrated approach that minimizes complexity.

Architecture

Jenkins X builds upon the DevOps model of loosely-coupled architectures and is designed to support you in deploying large numbers of distributed microservices in a repeatable and manageable fashion, across multiple teams.

Conceptual model

Building Blocks

Jenkins X builds upon the following core components:

Kubernetes & Docker


At the heart of the system is Kubernetes, which has become the de facto virtual infrastructure platform for DevOps. Every major Cloud provider now offers Kubernetes infrastructure on demand and the platform may also be installed in-house on private infrastructure, if required. Test environments may also be created on local development hardware using the Minikube installer.

Functionally, the Kubernetes platform extends the basic Containerization principles provided by Docker to span across multiple physical Nodes.

In brief, Kubernetes provides a homogeneous virtual infrastructure that can be scaled dynamically by adding or removing Nodes. Each Node participates in a single large flat private virtual network space.

The unit of deployment in Kubernetes is the Pod, which comprises one or more Docker containers and some meta-data. All containers within a Pod share the same virtual IP address and port space. Deployments within Kubernetes are declarative, so the user specifies the number of instances of a given version of a Pod to be deployed and Kubernetes calculates the actions required to get from the current state to the desired state by deploying or deleting Pods across Nodes. The decision as to where specific instances of Pods will be instantiated is influenced by available resources, desired resources and label-matching. Once deployed, Kubernetes undertakes to ensure that the desired number of Pods of each type remain operational by performing periodic health checks and terminating and replacing non-responsive Pods.

To impose some structure, Kubernetes allows for the creation of virtual Namespaces which can be used to separate Pods logically, and to potentially associate groups of Pods with specific resources. Resources in a Namespace can share a single security policy, for example. Resource names are required to be unique within a Namespace but may be reused across Namespaces.

In the Jenkins X model, a Pod equates to a deployed instance of a Microservice (in most cases). Where horizontal scaling of the Microservice is required, Kubernetes allows multiple identical instances of a given Pod to be deployed, each with its own virtual IP address. These can be aggregated into a single virtual endpoint known as a Service which has a unique and static IP address and a local DNS entry that matches the Service name. Calls to the Service are dynamically remapped to the IP of one of the healthy Pod instances on a random basis. Services can also be used to remap ports. Within the Kubernetes virtual network, services can be referred to with a fully qualified domain name of the form: <service-name>.<namespace-name>.svc.cluster.local which may be shortened to <service-name>.<namespace-name> or just <service-name> in the case of services which fall within the same namespace. Hence, a RESTful service called ‘payments’ deployed in a namespace called ‘finance’ could be referred to in code via http://payments.finance.svc.cluster.local, http://payments.finance or just http://payments, dependent upon the location of the calling code.

To access Services from outside the local network, Kubernetes requires the creation of an Ingress for each Service. The most common form of this utilizes one or more load balancers with static IP addresses, which sit outside the Kubernetes virtual infrastructure and route network requests to mapped internal Services. By creating a wildcard external DNS entry for the static IP address of the load balancer, it becomes possible to map services to external fully-qualified domain names. For example, if our load balancer is mapped to *.jenkins-x.io then our payments service could be exposed as http://payments.finance.jenkins-x.io.

Kubernetes represents a powerful and constantly improving platform for deploying services at massive scale, but is also complex to understand and can be difficult to configure correctly. Jenkins X brings to Kubernetes a set of default conventions and some simplified tooling, optimized for the purposes of DevOps and the management of loosely-coupled services.

The jx command line tool provides simple ways to perform common operations upon Kubernetes instances like viewing logs and connecting to container instances. In addition, Jenkins X extends the Kubernetes Namespace convention to create Environments which may be chained together to form a promotion hierarchy for the release pipeline.

A Jenkins X Environment can represent a virtual infrastructure environment such as Dev, Staging, Production etc for a given code team. Promotion rules between Environments can be defined so that releases may be moved automatically or manually through the pipeline. Each Environment is managed following the GitOps methodology - the desired state of an Environment is maintained in a Git repository and committing or rolling back changes to the repository triggers an associated change of state in the given Environment in Kubernetes.

Kubernetes clusters can be created directly using the jx create cluster command, making it simple to reproduce clusters in the event of a failure. Similarly, the Jenkins X platform can be upgraded on an existing cluster using jx upgrade platform. Jenkins X supports working with multiple Kubernetes clusters through jx context and switching between multiple Environments within a cluster with jx environment.

Developers should be aware of the capabilities that Kubernetes provides for distributing configuration data and security credentials across the cluster. ConfigMaps can be used to create sets of name/value pairs for non-confidential configuration meta-data and Secrets perform a similar but encrypted mechanism for security credentials and tokens. Kubernetes also provides a mechanism for specifying Resource Quotas for Pods which is necessary for optimizing deployments across Nodes and which we shall discuss shortly.

By default, Pod state is transient. Any data written to the local file system of a Pod is lost when that Pod is deleted. Developers should be aware that Kubernetes may unilaterally decide to delete instances of Pods and recreate them at any time as part of the general load balancing process for Nodes so local data may be lost at any time. Where stateful data is required, Persistent Volumes should be declared and mounted within the file system of specific Pods.

Helm and Draft


Interacting directly with Kubernetes involves either manual configuration using the kubectl command line utility, or passing various flavors of YAML data to the API. This can be complex and is open to human error creeping in. In keeping with the DevOps principle of ‘configuration as code’, Jenkins X leverages Helm and Draft to create atomic blocks of configuration for your applications.

Helm simplifies Kubernetes configuration through the concept of a Chart, which is a set of files that together specify the meta-data necessary to deploy a given application or service into Kubernetes. Rather than maintain a series of boilerplate YAML files based upon the Kubernetes API, Helm uses a templating language to create the required YAML specifications from a single shared set of values. This makes it possible to specify re-usable Kubernetes applications where configuration can be selectively over-ridden at deployment time.


Components

Component overview of a typical Jenkins X installation

Diagram

A diagram of the Jenkins X architecture

Features

How Jenkins X can help you deliver continuously

Jenkins X Pipelines

cloud native serverless pipelines

Technology Questions

Technology questions on Kubernetes and the associated opens source projects

Version Stream

How we improve stability of Jenkins X and its Apps


Last modified December 14, 2019: release 0.0.1346 (dcfae35)